Asia Cup 2023 Pakistan Loses First Wicket Against Sri Lanka

In the fifth match of the Super Four phase of the Asia Cup 2023, Pakistan faced a challenging start as opener Fakhar Zaman has dismissed early in the innings, contributing just 8 runs to the total score. Fakhar Zaman has clean bowled by fast bowler Pramod Madhushan in the fifth over.

Struggles in the Opening Overs

The Pakistani opening pair of Abdullah Shafiq and Fakhar Zaman encountered difficulties while facing the Sri Lankan bowlers. Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal added to Pakistan’s early woes.

Captain Babar Azam’s Entry

Following Fakhar Zaman’s departure, captain Babar Azam stepped onto the crease with confidence, responding with a boundary on the very next ball.

Toss Decision

In the match held in Colombo, Pakistan’s national team captain, Babar Azam, won the toss and elected to bat first. Babar Azam also mentioned that two changes made to the team announced earlier, with Imam-ul-Haq experiencing back pain, and Saud Shakeel not included in the playing XI due to illness.

Sri Lankan Captain’s Strategy

Sri Lankan captain Dasan Shanaka expressed his team’s strategy, emphasizing the importance of early wickets to keep Pakistan’s target to a minimum. He also mentioned that two changes made in the Sri Lankan squad, with Kaushal Perera and Pramod Madhushan included.

Match Delay Due to Rain

The match experienced a delayed toss due to rain, which subsequently prompted the umpires to reduce the contest to 45 overs per side.

High Stakes for Both Teams

Notably, the outcome of this match holds high stakes. If the match has washed out or if Sri Lanka emerges victorious, they will secure a spot in the final, while Pakistan’s journey in the tournament will come to an end.

Road to the Final

The victor of this contest between Pakistan and Sri Lanka will face India in the final of the Asia Cup, scheduled for September 17.

Pakistan Squad

  • Captain Babar Azam
  • Shadab Khan
  • Abdullah Shafiq
  • Muhammad Rizwan
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Muhammad Haris
  • Muhammad Nawaz
  • Muhammad Wasim Jr.
  • Shaheen Afridi
  • Zaman Khan

Sri Lanka Squad

  • Captain Dasan Shanaka
  • Patham Nissanka
  • Kaushal Perera
  • Kaushal Mendis
  • Siddira Samarawickrama
  • Charith Asalanka
  • Dhananjaya De Silva
  • Donath Velalje
  • Mahesh Thieksana
  • Mathisha Pathirana
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× How can I help you?